October 22, 2008

  • ...apathy...

    I couldn't really sleep last night. The latest polls still have us losing the battle against Prop 8 by about 5 points. I was mulling over ideas in my head as to how I could help in this fight. I decided that I would reach out to as many of my friends as possible to encourage them to vote NO on Prop 8. This morning, I randomly pinged one of my friends to check to confirm that he had at least registered to vote. He hadn't. I was pissed. Beyond pissed. HOW COULD YOU NOT FUCKING REGISTER TO VOTE?!?!?!?! In what will be one of the most significant and historical elections ever where we can actually effect change, there are still people choosing to be apathetic?!?!?! WTF?!? I don't get it. What does it take for people to care? Is it not enough that our economy is in shambles and that we've had an idiot as our leader for the past 8 painful years? Maybe we just haven't wasted enough of the people's money or sacrificed enough American lives in the name of oil yet? Or perhaps people are regressing and actually do believe that separate is equal? WAKE UP AMERICA!!! I get that people have their own lives to live, and that they have other priorities, but we're seriously talking about undermining the very foundation that this country was built upon: freedom and equality for all. Please take your privilege seriously. Please vote, and more importantly, please vote NO on 8!

    "All that is necessary for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing" -- Edmund Burke


Comments (4)

  • Inexcusable!! I agree.

  • While it is frustrating, I can understand your friend's sense of apathy: for the most part, people don't see that the propositions and candidates really make much of a difference in their lives.

    Try turning his apathy into action: "Since you didn't register and you won't have a say, can I get you to call ten of your friends or relatives and ask them to vote no on proposition 8?"  See if a little guilt can be turned into something good.

  • ayeahhh

    yea the roommate i was talkin about...

    didn't register...
    got him the form
    offered to fill it out
    offered to mail it in

    i didn't know how to make it any easier

  • Many institutions limit access to their online information. Making this information available will be an asset to all.
    Custom Research Paper

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment