September 4, 2008

  • …damned if I do, damned if I don’t…

    My mom called me today, like she does every day. Ever since I left for college, my family calls me constantly. Yes, I know what you’re going to say, “they call you because they love you.” I get it, but that doesn’t make it any less annoying. I’ve been really busy at work, especially since it’s the end of Q3 and I’m up for a promotion and a raise. So couple that with working on stuff for Roots and studying for the LSATs, I really don’t have much time to just chit chat. My family seems to think otherwise. Most of the time, I enjoy talking to them and indulge them in a lighthearted conversation, but today just was not a good day. I was already a bit irritated from work, so that in combination with my mom’s incessant voicemails and calls just made for a lead straw that broke this camel’s back. They complain that I don’t call enough, even though I call them at least twice, if not more, a week. On top of that, they complain that when I do call, it’s usually because I need something–sooooo not true. Either way, I just can’t win.

Comments (12)

  • Goog luck with the promotion!

  • Ugh, I know how you feel. Parents at are age are pretty annoying. The only thing we can do is just bare with it. Good luck with the promotion!!

  • They love you very much every day! But yeah i know what its like. but they’ll be like if you have time to eat you have time to talk!!!

  • You are nice enough to call so often! As for me, I usually call once a week…or once every two weeks!!
    Good luck on your LSAT!!

  • You’ll be good girl. I feel your pain. I actually started to introduce other types of communication to my parents… Email and Text. That way they know I’m thinking of them but it’s better time wise. We still chat on the phone on occasion too.

    Just you wait for SUNDAY.

  • but, they *love* you! hahahahahhaha.
    well, i’m living w/ mine (still), so, at least you don’t get nagged for staying out late like *i* do.
    good luck w/ the promo and the raise! and the LSATs. when are those over btw? i feel like i haven’t seen you.

  • OMGOSH, DITTO to every single thing you wrote! …my mom’s calling me every 2-3 days now that i’m over here…

  • @whonose - 

    hahaha, sooooo true!

  • @curry69curry - 

    yah, my mom would drive up here and smack me if I didn’t call her for such long intervals

  • @compugeek2001 - 

    yah, that won’t work with my parents. they still haven’t figured out how to check their voicemail yet, lol

  • @obi1kay - 

    hahaha, yah, get used to it. it’ll become the norm for ya

  • @Just2Tyght - 

    Girl, now you just gotta be patient and teach them! Trust me… it pays a billion times over. :)

    -Will

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *