Month: February 2008

  • …waking up…

    As the country prepares for one of the most pivotal elections we’ve had to date, I feel the need, now more than ever, to reiterate my continuing support for Hillary Clinton. Simply put, she is the best candidate we have for the role of President. Her experience and credentials speak for themselves, and she doesn’t need billowing inspirational rhetoric to convince people that she’s the better candidate–no, Americans just need to wake up out of the political vertigo that Obama has thrust us into.

    I’ve said it time and time again, Barack Obama is a great candidate. He’s inspirational, personable, and oh yeah, he’s wet behind the ears. Did I also mention that the sole basis of his platform is change? That’s nice, but how, exactly, are you planning to accomplish this Mr. Obama? Throughout his entire campaign, Obama has left us in a cloud of hope, with little to no idea whatsoever as to where we’re off to next. Unfortunately, hope means nothing if we lack direction and a clear and cogent plan of action. You’ve given us political vertigo Mr. Obama, and while this certainly isn’t anything new, it is something we can ill afford in this, our time of crisis. Again, I don’t want inspirational rhetoric, I want to know exactly how your plan to address the growing problem with Social Security isn’t going to ultimately defeat itself and place the burden back on the shoulders of our younger generations? How do you really intend to pull this country out of a recession when it hits? Beyond inviting the leadership to have tea and scones with you, how do you really intend to broker peace in the Middle East? Lastly, what are you going to do for the LGBT community aside from refusing to stand beside us and deny us our human right to be treated equally and be allowed to marry? Hillary has already promised to make repealing “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”, parts of DoMA, and passage of ENDA a priority for her administration, but what are you going to do aside from treating myself and my community as tokenized 2nd class citizens just because of our sexual identity?

    It’s time to wake up America! I know we’ve all heard Obama speak, but it’s time we listen to his words and see where he’s planning to lead us–nowhere. Too many times in our history, we’ve been swayed by empty promises and inspirational rhetoric. When will we learn our lesson and begin to make these candidates accountable to us and fulfill their promises? Currently, Obama is nothing more than a simple politician to me, incapable of leading a large country, let alone the free world. What we need now isn’t another politician or actor pretending he knows what he’s doing, what we, and the global community need is a statesman, and Hillary is just that.

  • …CNY!!!

    Ok, so I’m totally late with this, but…


    新年快樂!!!


    HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!!!

  • …Hillary…

    As Super Tuesday approaches and our nation gets ready to mark yet another milestone in our political history, I wanted to take a moment to explain why it is that I’m supporting Hillary Rodham Clinton and not Barack Obama…

    Aside from the fact that she’s incredibly brilliant, politically astute, and a seasoned politician, I find her to be a true leader in every sense of the word as opposed to Barack Obama. Granted, while Obama is also intelligent and charismatic, he’s also inexperienced. I don’t doubt his intentions as I find him to be quite an ethical and upstanding candidate and politician. What I do doubt though, is his lack of a true plan. At the current moment, our country is facing a pivotal time where we need real leadership to guide us to real and effective change, and unfortunately, I don’t believe that Obama can do that for us. Yes, he’s inspirational, but inspirational rhetoric will do nothing for our declining economy, nor the troubles that have resulted from this outgoing administration. Hillary, on the other hand, does have experience that stems not only from her terms as a Senator, but also from her time as a First Lady. Some people argue against her citing that they can’t trust her because she’s so calculating. Why is that a problem? Why would you knock someone for having a clear vision as to how they want to change this country? Unfortunately, spontaneity and cluelessness are luxuries that this country can ill afford given our past 7 years. In short, while I have nothing personal against Obama, I feel that as a Presidential candidate in this election, he would be nothing more than a band-aid for our country’s problems. He would cover up this country’s wound with his inspirational rhetoric, all the while allowing the wound to grow and fester with his lack of experience and direction. Hillary is the solution. She has direction, experience, and more importantly, my vote…

  • …update…

    Wow, it certainly has been a while since I last updated this! Thanks to those of you who gave me the little nudge to finally post an entry.



    It’s been a crazy year so far. Healthwise, I started it off sick, recovered a little bit, and now, I’m sick again. Not fun. That aside, everything else is going pretty well. I’m still traveling a lot. Since my last update, I was in Shanghai, Tokyo, Kyoto, Osaka, Chichibu, Tahoe, Reno, and Honolulu. I’ll post up pics later, once I sort through the thousands that were taken. Work is keeping me very busy as usual, and life in general is pretty good, which is more than I can say for our economy…



    Speaking of which, what the hell is going on with our economy?! We’re dangerously close to a recession, the US dollar is worth LESS than the Canadian dollar, and the future is looking bleaker and bleaker. What the hell has Dubya gotten us into?! Why has he not been impeached yet?! I still don’t get how Americans could crucify Bill Clinton for essentially being a human, while not even bothering to slap Dubya on the hand for not only sacrificing millions of American lives, but also wasting trillions of dollars in tax-payers’ money in his quest to fight terrorism. Then again, this is America, the land of self-entitlement and hypocrisy. Yes, we in dire need of a change indeed…



    …and she’ll take us there…