Month: November 2008

  • …KevJumba!

    My friend, Will, got to attend YouTube Live and I had one small request of him, get KevJumba to say hi to me on video! Check it out! Wheeeeeeeeee! Thanks Will and hi KevJumba!!

  • …the test of friendship…

    On November 4th, our country beared witness to both a triumphant victory and a morally crushing defeat. As we stood on the threshold of history, prepared to embrace the fact that we, as a people and as a country, had progressed far enough to elect the first colored President of the United States, we still were unable to transcend the homophobia and hate that still pervades our hypocritical society. As elated as I was about Obama’s victory, I only wish that humanity could have shared in that same victory. CA Proposition 8 has torn this country apart. It has torn apart families, and for me personally, it has torn apart friendships…



    In the process of reaching out to my conservative and religious friends to try to bridge the communication gap that has been created by this issue, I find myself becoming a broken record, asking the same questions of each person that has voted “yes” on 8. Yes, you’re certainly entitled to your beliefs and opinions, but how can you, as a friend, call yourself one when you were in effect denigrating me by voting “yes” on 8? How does this issue affect you? How does my ability to love and my right to marry infringe upon your rights, so much so that you would willingly and consciously vote to certify me as a lower-class citizen, to treat me as sub-human, with your vote. Is this what friendship is about? If it is, then I don’t know if our friendship is really worth fighting for…



    How quickly we forget the pain and ugliness of discrimination that our parents, aunts, and uncles had to endure as people of color, people who were different from the status quo. They fought bravely so that we could enjoy the right to equality. How can you spit in their face, as well as mine, by destroying what they’ve fought for?



    This issue is not about religion. It’s about equality.